Five Love Languages

“God affirms us, making us a sure thing in Christ.” 2 Corinthians 1:20

Gary Chapman wrote a popular book, The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts. The love languages include: [1] gifts, [2] quality time, [3] words of affirmation, [4] acts of service, and [5] physical touch. In taking the quiz in the book, I discovered my top love language to be acts of serviimagece (or kindness).

It’s the little things, such as on a cold evening and I climb into a warm bed because Glen walked around to my side of the bed and turned on the electric mattress pad for me. You see, I’m not too hard to please.

God’s love languages are similar to Chapman’s.  God generously showers gifts on us, is available 24/7 for quality time, and sends the Holy Spirit to touch our hearts and souls.  He gave the ultimate act of kindness in the life, death and resurrection of Jesus. In today’s scripture, Paul assures us God affirm us–that we are worthy of having Christ as our Savior.

It’s quite evident God is a better lover than his children.

Lord, through your love, may we come better lovers. Amen.

About lindagillis

I am a retired church office servant, a writer, speaker for conferences, events, and retreats, and advocate for those who work in the church office. I began writing seriously after winning the 2006 Guideposts Writer's Workshop and being published in "Guideposts" and "Angels on Earth" magazines. I have self-published two book, "The Donut Theory--Meditation and Inspiration for the Church Office" and "Humble Beginnings--Daily Meditation Moments". My other passion is family and traveling to visit family and friends.
This entry was posted in Daily Meditations Blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *